St. George Green Chile Vodka = Perfection

One thing I’ve been looking forward to since moving to my new house way out in the boonies has been our backyard: planting a garden and enjoying outdoor meals.

It’s finally warm enough, so last night we cooked up a meal of vegan sausage, balsamic portobello mushrooms, fresh kale and pumpkin seed salad (adapted from Oh She Glows), an heirloom tomato take on bruschetta, avocado, and some muscat grapes. The perfect summer nom.

boozyvegan See, sometimes I cook

Nothing goes better with a lovely outdoor meal than a fresh cocktail, so I paired it with a Paloma composed of fresh squeezed grapefruit juice (literally, I squeezed it), lime juice, sparking water, a lil sugar, and St. George Green Chile Vodka.

st george

I love a spicy cocktail. So much so that I used to just buy vodka, cut up some jalapeños and shake shake shake til I had a makeshift version of this beautiful drink.

I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve ever had the opportunity to try from Alameda-based distillery St. George; they have a phenomenal coffee liquor, the best US-made absinthe I’ve tasted, unbelievable gins that taste like mountains (Terroir!), and the list goes on. They also offer tours and tastings for a fun day trip.

The Green Chile Vodka doesn’t disappoint. You can really taste all the different peppers and notes of lime and cilantro. It has a pleasant heat to it and is incredibly smooth. I enjoyed it straight, but this was really made for Bloody Mary’s (or any of their other cocktail recommendations).

Give it a try this summer!

Leave a comment